Points and Awards System SARWC Events

Awards System (SARWC)
Age as of 31st December.
For each age group male and female the points are;
1st – 10, 2nd – 8, 3rd – 6, 4th – 5, 5th – 4, 6th – 3, 7th – 2, 8th onwards – 1
  • A walker can nominate (and be counted for points) in a higher age group. They can make the nomination at the start of the season (for the whole of the season) or event by event.
  • If no different age group is nominated, the walker will participate in their actual age group.
  • Points are only scored in the age group the walker has nominated.
  • Nomination is required for state championships (note ASA membership is required) and club championships.
  • Points are only scored if the walker participates in the distance for their age or longer. If participating in shorter distances they are a “reserve” and do not count in placing and points.
  • To be eligible for an award, walkers must have participated in at least 5 point scoring events.

Point Scoring
Over 35 Men
Over 35 Women
Open Men
Open Women
Under 18 Boys/ Girls
Under 16 Boys/ Girls
Under 14 Boys/ Girls
Under 12 Boys/ Girls

King of the Mountain
King of the Mountain and Queen of the Mountain (Open)
Prince of the Mountain and Princess of the Mountain (Under 18)
Sprite of the Mountain and Pixie of the Mountain (Under 15)
Imp and Nymph of the Mountain (Under 12)

Interesting King of the Mountain information.

Distance              Ascent from Last Distance     Overall Ascent     Ascent Angle from Last Distance     Overall Ascent Angle (degrees)
2.1Km                  53m (in 2100m)                          53m                       1.44                                                       1.44
3.5Km                  50m (in 1400m)                          103m                     2.04                                                       1.68            
5.1Km                  110m (in 1600m)                        213m                     3.93                                                       2.39

Approx. 3.4 to 4.1Km 12 degrees ascent

Jack Webber Trophy - Awarded for the open men’s winner of the longest state championship event.
Knight and Campbell Shield - Awarded to the winner of the open 10km handicap event.
Rob McFadden Trophy - Awarded to the winner of the under 16 5km handicap event.
Most Improved - Awarded to the walker who (in the opinion of the selectors) has made the most improvement during the season.

Club Championship 1
(Open Men and Women 8km, Over 35 Men and Women 8km, Under 20 Men and Women 8km, Under 18 Boys and Girls 6km, Under 16 Boys and Girls 4km, Under 14 Boys 2km)

Club Championship 2
(Open Men and Women 15km, Over 35 Men and Women 15km, Under 20 Men and Women 10km, Under 18 Boys and Girls 8km, Under 16 Boys and Girls 5km, Under 14 Boys 3km)

Starr Awards
(Consistent Improvement, Determination, Persistence, Effort)
The Starr Awards are named after Bill Starr who is the proud sponsor.
Age Groups (Federation Events)
Age group is age on day for LBG and Interstate Challenge.